Winners of 2015

We’d like to inform that EMEA Regional Awards applications of 2015 have been evaluated by the IEEE ComSoc EMEA Region committee. In 2015 there have been 10 applicants, and the committee came to the conlusion to give the awards to the following applicants:

  1. Sheng Yang, Centrale-Supelec, Gif Sur Yvette, France ( – IEEE ComSoc Young Researcher Award for the EMEA Region
  2. Daniel Enrique Lucani Roetter, Aalborg University Denmark ( – the first Outstanding Young Researcher
  3. Claudia Campolo, University Mediterranea of Reggio Calabria, Italy ( -as the second Outstanding Young Researcher

We are also pleased to inform that EMEA Region Distinguished Service Award has been granted to the Professor Fambirai Takawira (University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg).

Professor Fambirai Takawira had the following functions in ComSoc:

  • EMEA Director (2012-2013)
  • EMEA Board member and Young Researchers Award advisor (2014-2015)
  • GLOBECOM/ICC Management & Strategy (GIMS) Standing Committee member (2015-2017)
  • Nominations & Elections Standing Committee member (2015-2017)
  • active volunteer in ComSoc before